Book
Arrival
Nights
Adults
Check our availability - Best prices guaranteed
Menu
+33 (0)4 90 64 01 41
fren
Hostellerie du Val de Sault

Tourist attractions

From our hotel in Sault, discover Mont Ventoux and its many treasures. The Luberon, the hillside villages, the vineyards, local crafts: all of these are so many delights not to be missed.



Mont ventoux

Opposite the hotel, Mont Ventoux makes for exceptional views. It is our "Fujiyama", and the highest peak in the Vaucluse. Known as the Giant of Provence or the Mont Chauve (Bald Mountain) because of the absence of vegetation at its summit, it has become iconic due to its association with cycling races. It appeared on the route of the Tour de France for the first time in 1951. Since then it has seen the exploits of some of the biggest names in cycling, and many amateurs dream of ascending its flanks. The peak of Mont Ventoux is visible for many kilometres around, not just because of its isolation, but also thanks to the bright white of its limestone. It offers exceptional 360° panoramic views of the surrounding plains and, on clear days, of Mont Blanc and the Mediterranean.

The hillside villages

In the Vaucluse, many villages were built on rocky promontories or into the flanks of hills. The village of Sault is typical of this Provençal and Mediterranean tradition. Nestling above rocky cliffs, it dominates the plain which stretches to the foot of Mont Ventoux. Many other hillside villages are within easy reach of our hotel too. Some of them are among the most beautiful villages of France such as Gordes, Ménerbes, Lacoste, Roussillon, Simiane la Rotonde, Séguret and Venasque. Each has its own particular character, with their old stone buildings, their narrow roads and their cool, shaded squares, often with fountains at their centre.

The Baronnies

A few kilometres from the village and the Hostellerie du Val de Sault, beyond Mont Ventoux, discover the landscapes and history of the Baronnies. Now a regional natural park, the name of these lowlands derives from the Barons of Mévouillon and Montauban who, in the early Middle Ages, had obtained a degree of independence from the Count of Provence and the Dauphin. The Baronnies are known for their rich soils where lime trees, apricots, vines, olives and truffles grow. They are home to many unspoiled landscapes such as the Toulourenc Valley and towns which have remained frozen in time such as Nyons, a medieval city listed as one of the most beautiful destinations in France.

The villages of the Luberon

The Luberon is, without doubt, one of the most charming regions of France. With its typical Provence villages, its chateaux, its ancient and religious edifices, and its ochre stone, it offers a stunning palette of surprises and beauty. Right by the Val de Sault and to the south of Mont Ventoux, take the time to wind your way along the sinuous roads of its villages: Gordes and its majestic Abbaye de Sénanque, Menerbes and Lacoste, Gargas, a village of "ochre works", and its superb Bruoux mines, Rustrel and its famous Colorado Provençal. Make the most of your expedition to get a taste of the Luberon with its olive oil, honey, candied fruit, truffles and white, rosé and red wines.

The Toulourenc Valley

The Toulourenc is a small river which snakes between Mont Ventoux and the Baronnies and flows along a narrow valley over the course of 30 kilometres. This valley is a haven of peace from which you can admire stunning views: the mountainous landscape of the Ventoux region, stone bridges, natural swimming pools, and gorges... in summer the river bed runs almost dry and can be walked along to discover this little slice of paradise.  To take this walk from the Hostellerie du Val de Sault, head in the direction of Saint-Léger du Ventoux where you can easily get to the river, then follow it until you reach Veaux bridge. Welcome to another world!

Vaison-la-Romaine

During your stay at our hotel in Sault, there will be so many exceptional sites to visit that you will have some difficult choices to make. Vaison-la-Romaine should not be missed. On the banks of the Ouvèze, 30 km from Mont Ventoux, discover 1,000 years of history through antique, medieval and modern architecture. The emblem of Vaison-la-Romaine must be its Roman single-arch bridge which spans the Ouvèze. But there are many other sights which deserve your attention: the ancient sites of Puymin and Villasse, the Théo Desplans archaeological museum, Notre-Dame de Nazareth cathedral, the medieval city...

The Nesque gorges

Listed as a UNESCO "Biosphere Reserve", the Nesque Gorges present one of the most spectacular settings of south Ventoux region. Only a few kilometres from the hotel, this grandiose wild canyon extends over 12 km and can reach up to 400 m depth. Panoramic viewing points from where you can admire the rocky cliffs are spread out along the canyon. Don't miss the 300 m high Rocher de Cire (stone of wax) which owes its name to the wild apiaries on it. Further down, by the river, visit a 12th century troglodyte chapel: Saint-Michel de Anesca.

Check our availability now
and see our best prices
Arrival
Nights
Adults

Réservation
Arrivée
Nuitées
Adultes
Autres sites
Site Officiel
Menu
+33 (0)4 90 64 01 41
fren
Hostellerie du Val de Sault

Tourisme dans le Vaucluse

depuis notre hôtel 4 étoiles

Depuis notre hôtel à Sault , découvrir le Mont Ventoux et ses nombreux trésors . Le Luberon , les villages perchés , les vignobles , l'artisanat local : tous ces éléments sont autant de délices à ne pas manquer.



Mont Ventoux

Le "Géant de la Provence"

Offrant une vue exceptionnelle face à l'hôtel, le mont Ventoux, notre « Fuji-Yama », est le plus haut sommet du Vaucluse. Surnommé le Géant de Provence ou le mont Chauve, du fait de l'absence de végétation à son sommet, le mont Ventoux est devenu mythique grâce aux courses cyclistes. Emprunté dès 1951 par les coureurs, les plus grands noms du cyclisme s'y sont illustrés et de nombreux amateurs rêvent de le gravir. La cime du Ventoux est visible à des kilomètres de distance à cause de son isolement géographique mais aussi de sa vive couleur blanche, liée à sa nature calcaire. Elle offre un panorama exceptionnel, à 360°, sur les plaines alentours du Vaucluse et, quand le ciel est dégagé, sur le Mont Blanc et la Méditerranée. Découvrez ce sommet mythique de la Provence durant votre séjour au sein de notre hôtel 4 étoiles.

Village perchés

du Lubéron

Dans le Vaucluse, de nombreux villages ont été construits sur des acropoles rocheuses ou à flanc de colline. Le village de Sault n'échappe pas à cette particularité typiquement provençale et méditerranéenne. Juché sur un éperon rocheux, il domine la plaine qui s'étend au pied du mont Ventoux. Mais de nombreux autres villages perchés sont rapidement accessibles à partir de notre hôtel de luxe. Certains figurent parmi les plus beaux villages de France comme Gordes, Ménerbes, Lacoste, Roussillon, Simiane la Rotonde, Séguret et Venasque. Ils offrent tous une atmosphère particulière grâce à leurs maisons de pierre patinées par le temps, leurs ruelles étroites et la fraîcheur de leurs placettes généralement agrémentées de fontaines.

Baronnies

À quelques kilomètres du village et de l'hôtellerie du Val de Sault, au-delà du mont Ventoux, s'étend la région naturelle et historique des Baronnies. Désormais classé parc naturel régional, ce pays de basse montagne tient son nom des Barons de Mévouillon et de Montauban qui, au début du Moyen Âge, avaient obtenu une certaine indépendance vis-à-vis du comte de Provence et du Dauphin. Les baronnies possèdent un terroir rare où sont cultivés tilleul, abricots, vignes, olives et truffes. Elles recèlent de paysages préservés comme la vallée du Toulourenc et de villes qui ont traversé les âges comme celle de Nyons, cité médiévale classée parmi les plus beaux détours de France.

Village du Luberon

Le Luberon est sans aucun doute l’un des plus jolis territoires de France. Avec ses villages typiquement provençaux, ses châteaux, ses édifices antiques et religieux, sa couleur ocre, il offre une incroyable palette de surprises et de beautés. À proximité du Val de Sault, au sud du mont Ventoux, prenez le temps de visiter quelques villages aux ruelles sinueuses : Gordes et sa majestueuse abbaye de Sénanque, Menerbes et Lacoste, Gargas, village ocrier, et ses superbes mines de Bruoux, Rustrel et son célèbre Colorado provençal. Profitez aussi de votre balade pour goûter au terroir du Luberon qui propose huile d'olive, miel, fruits confits, truffes et vins blancs, rosés ou rouges.

Vallée du Toulourenc

Le Toulourenc est une petite rivière qui serpente entre le mont Ventoux et les Baronnies et qui s'écoule, sur 30 kilomètres, dans une vallée étroite. Cette vallée est un véritable havre de paix qui offre un spectacle éblouissant : paysage des montagnes du Ventoux, ponts de pierre, piscines naturelles, gorges… En période estivale, le lit de la rivière, presque asséchée, peut être emprunté pour découvrir ce petit paradis terrestre. Pour effectuer cette balade depuis l'hostellerie du Val de Sault, hôtel 4 étoiles dans le Luberon, rejoignez Saint-Léger du Ventoux où la rivière est facilement accessible, puis suivez son cours jusqu'au pont de Veaux. Dépaysement et sérénité assurés !

Vaison la Romaine

Lors de votre séjour dans notre hôtel à Sault dans le Vaucluse, les possibilités de visite de sites exceptionnels seront si nombreuses qu'il vous faudra sans doute faire des choix. Vaison-la-Romaine mérite assurément d'en faire partie. Située sur les rives de l'Ouvèze, à 30 kilomètres du mont Ventoux, cette cité rare permet d'embrasser plus de 2000 ans d'histoire grâce à son architecture antique, médiévale et moderne. L'emblème de Vaison-la-Romaine est assurément son pont romain à arche unique qui enjambe l'Ouvèze. Mais de nombreux autres édifices méritent l'attention : les sites antiques de Puymin et de la Villasse, le musée archéologique Théo Desplans, la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Nazareth, la cité médiévale…

 

Gorges de la Nesque

Classées « Réserve de Biosphère » par l'UNESCO, les gorges de la Nesque proposent un des cadres naturels les plus spectaculaires du sud Ventoux. À seulement quelques kilomètres de notre hôtel de charme dans le Luberon, ce canyon sauvage et grandiose s'étend sur 12 kilomètres avec une profondeur qui peut atteindre plus de 400 mètres. Son parcours est jalonné de belvédères où vous pourrez admirer les éperons rocheux. Ne manquez pas le Rocher de Cire, haut de plus de 300 mètres et qui doit son nom aux ruchers sauvages qu'il abritait. En contrebas, près de la rivière, vous pourrez aussi visiter une chapelle troglodyte du XIIe siècle : Saint-Michel de Anesca.

Vérifiez dès à présent nos disponibilités
et découvrez nos meilleurs tarifs
Arrivée
Nuitées
Adultes